There And Back Again: By Alicia Whittle

FullSizeRender.jpg

Today marks the day I fly back to Germany. I was there once before just four years ago, but this trip is different in so many ways and more. Four years ago I had just completed my first year of college and was officially a sophomore. My sister (the young lady on the right) came with me so I was never alone. Izzy, the young lady in the middle, visited the US when she was 15 years old and stayed with my family for an entire academic school year. At that time, I was a senior in high school and my sister was a junior, while Izzy came as incoming sophomore. Since we could not be separated for long, her wonderful father flew my sister and I over just two summers later. I was also a student-athlete recovering from a broken left ankle and I used walking as a rehab exercise. We traveled all over Germany in 27 days and hit all the famous cities, which included Berlin, Hamburg, Munich, and Heidelberg.

Now, I am in graduate school and have completed both my fall and spring semesters. I have been organizing this trip since the moment I got into MAIGC program last year. This will be the longest time I have spent abroad, but the best way I could plan my summer before graduation. Please stay tuned for more entries about my time abroad!

~AKW

Leave a Reply

