Cambodia wrap up

It’s hard to describe with words my experience in Cambodia. This was truly a life changing experience that helped me put things in perspective. I would say that the one thing that truly captivated me about Cambodian culture is the positive outlook they have about life. Cambodians are known for their smiles, they are constantly smiling, no matter what their situation is. They are gentle and humble and always trying to make you feel comfortable.   
  One of the most memorable experiences I had was when some of the volunteers and I were invited to one of our teacher’s house for dinner. We were treated as VIP guests. We ate rice, chicken, eggs and for dessert various fruits with condensed milk. This was just one of the many times I felt at home with people I’ve only met for a few days. Although, we were at a very poor household, in a tiny village in Cambodia, I never felt that these people were poor. Because of their positive attitude and energy, you would never think they constantly struggle to put food in their tables.

 
My advice to those planning to visit Cambodia is to keep and open mind and an open heart. Be prepared to fall in love with the people and the culture, especially the children. Of all the places I’ve visited, Cambodia is the one place I know 100% I will go back to. I felt at home and met some of the most fascinating people from all over the world. I am grateful for this experience and for the beautiful smiles that will forever stay in my heart. 
  

 By Patricia Chourio.

Leave a Reply

