Back to Reality

Back to Reality 😦

 I ended up doing some brief traveling after my experience in Dubai ended, because the travel bug has officially bit me. I must say, it has been quite an adjustment settling back in Atlanta. I miss Dubai immensely. My 5 weeks in the city were truly life changing for a variety of reasons. While I have traveled to the Middle East before, Dubai was unlike any place I had ever been. It’s a bubble, and it is very easy to get caught up in the bubble, forgetting the rest of the world around you.

Sailing on boat.

It is bittersweet coming home. The things I loved the most about Dubai were the diversity and the opportunities. The city is a melting of people from all over the world, and everyone there is eager to learn about everyone else around them. The main thing I didn’t like about the city was the hierarchy, and the division of power. That is something that I am happy to not deal with in America. Dubai has a different system of operating, and while some criticize the system, it works for those that live there.

photo2

UAE Desert with my new friend.

UAE Desert with my new friend.

My advice to people that travel to Dubai is to be open minded and take it alllll in! Go visit the deserts, one hour outside of Dubai. If the opportunity presents itself, WORK! Working in Dubai and vacationing in Dubai are two totally different things. Luckily, I was able to both. Go see the old Dubai, where the glitz and glam do not exist, what Dubai was just 15 years ago. Last, but certainly not least, get to know the local culture, learn about the laws, and get involved in the traditions. I think I asked more questions in my 5 weeks in Dubai, than I have the past 10 years in America. I wanted to know about everything, and why things were the way they were.

Ketchum Raad Coworkers at the opening of a client's store, Damani 1969, at Dubai Mall.

Ketchum Raad Coworkers at the opening of a client’s store, Damani 1969, at Dubai Mall.

Assimilating in Dubai was not an issue, however, figuring out where you belong in the city can be somewhat tricky. There are so many cultures, with an underlining religious foundation, that people tend to get lost in the shuffle. I wouldn’t trade my experience for anything in this world, and I cannot wait to go back to Dubai, either to visit, or who knows, maybe to work! I’ve kept in close contact with the office I interned with, and I truly hope our paths cross soon.

See ya soon, Dubai.

At a client event for the makeup brand, Inglot.

At a client event for the makeup brand, Inglot.

Ketchum Raad client, Inglot.

Ketchum Raad client, Inglot.

 

One thought on “Back to Reality

Leave a Reply

