My Dublin Debut by Jocelyn Weiss

I chose Dublin as my SEAM destination for a multitude of reasons: it consists of a rich history, unique culture, beautiful architecture and imbued with friendly locals. My initial impression of the city was quite similar to the picturesque scene I imagined.
Dun Laoghaire Marina

Dun Laoghaire Marina

Considering I have never previously traveled abroad, I did well in choosing accommodations in close proximity to local shopping areas, pubs, and a multitude of transportation options. I have found that traveling by taxi can be quite expensive, but I am in walking distance of the bus station and the DART (Dublin area rapid transit) which are both affordable and convenient modes of transportation.
As I have never travelled internationally, I was unsure how difficult it would be for me to assimilate into the local culture. However, based upon my initial impression of the city and helpfulness of the locals, I imagine it will not be too terribly difficult. However, I do not want to be too quick to pass this judgement so I guess I will just have to wait and see! Although I have only been here for a few days now, I have thoroughly enjoyed seeing the city, learning about the culture and meeting the people. I am very excited to see how things progress as I prepare to conduct my research.
Leave a Reply

