Travel Experience

By Catalina Quinones

Laura and I decided to do a Live Cooking Demo for the guests, because many of them have made compliments about the food in the hotel. Indian food is delicious, this is definitively one of the things that I like the most about this experience. Indian food have many flavors, spices, and a delicious bread called “parathas”.Image

Laura and I decided to go to New Delhi, Agra, and Jaipur. The trip from Kerala to Cochin took about 4 hours by train. Being in that train reminded me of the movie “who wants to be a millionaire”, because it was exactly like that. It was crowded, strong odors, and Indians couldn’t stop staring at us in a strange way. It was very funny because some of them took us photos, and asked us if we could take some with them. When we got to Cochin we took a flight to New Delhi.

Delhi is a enormous city. Naturally, the first thing that overwhelms the senses is the noise. I have to say that New Delhi it is very dusty, disorganized, and polluted. However, there are beautiful temples and architecture. Everywhere you go, there were food stands on the street. Looks good, smells good, but to tell you the truth I was afraid to eat it.  After New Delhi we went to Agra to visit the Taj Mahal. Needless to say, it was  spectacular and very majestic. The Fifth Mughal Emperor built the Taj Mahal for his wife Mumtaz Mahal, and after the temple was build he ordered to cut the hands of the 20.000 workers because hedidn’t want them to build something similar ever again.Image

This is the first time that I travel to a “third world” country. I was a little bit worry at the beginning, but I have to say that it had been an incredible experience. I feel thankful for what I have because Indians are very poor and we live in a blessed country. I Highly recommend the experience!

dsc_00092 dsc_00181 img_20130705_122505

Leave a Reply

