June 2 – Daily Devotional

By Tiffany Abera

Man, I feel like these devotionals couldn’t be more on time! Today’s entries were titled The Branch and the Vine and The Flagship of Patience.

My morning devotional discussed how connected we are with God. They used the symbolism of the branch and the vine.  One is an extension of the other and fruit can not grow without the presence of both. In order for a fruitful life there can not be one without the other.

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. A branch cannot produce fruit alone but must remain in the vine. –John 15:4

In this way we are never without God. He is always there! This will be important to remember as I travel to unknown places. When I am unsure, timid or feeling lonely I have to remind myself that I am not alone and that God is always there with me.

My evening devotional was about patience. Lord knows I have a limited, very limited amount of patience. It is one of those attributes that I am constantly working on to better and this entry couldn’t have been more relevant considering the previous day. But patience is more than just waiting without complaining. Patience is first and foremost a show of love. It is the flagship of love.

Love is patient. -1 Corinthians: 13:4

Practicing patience is like a pot of boiling water.  Water does not boil because of the pot it is in nor the utensils or the type of stove.  Water boils quicker when the flame is high and slower when the flame is low.  Patience is the low burning flame.  Patience allows you to listen, it is not naïve, nor does it ignore misbehavior.  It is also important to know the difference between patience and passivity. They are not the same.  Being passive is ignoring or dismissing something while patience is waiting for the right time to act or speak. I think maybe this was what God intended for us when he said Love is patient. I’ll have to keep working on that while I’m here.

Leave a Reply

